▶ Endowed and Annual Scholarships

Endowed Scholarships

Endowed Scholarships

The Alumni Scholarship Fund was established in 2003 in New York to encourage gifts by and in honor of Academy Alumni.

The Barbara Moore Jordan Scholarship was established in memory of Barbara Moore Jordan, Class of 1954, by her family, to help young people achieve their goals in the dramatic arts.

The Brenda Forbes Scholarship was derived from a bequest by the distinguished British-born actress.

The Charles Jehlinger Scholarship, created with gifts from administrators and senior faculty of The Academy Los Angeles honors the memory of Charles Jehlinger, the Academy's Director of Instruction for over 50 years.

The Cleavon Little Scholarship, created through a campaign led by alumnus Judd Hirsch, provides assistance to minority students in memory of Cleavon Little, Class of 1967.

The Dina Merrill Scholarship Fund was derived from a Gala Tribute in honor of Academy alumna Dina Merrill in April of 2005.

The Frances Fuller Scholarship was established in memory of actress Frances Fuller, Class of 1928, a former Director of the Academy.

The Franklin Haven Sargent Scholarship was derived from the estate of the Academy's founder.

The George Nichols III Scholarship was derived from a bequest by a member of the Academy's Board of Trustees, and from memorial gifts made in his honor.

The Gordon A. Rust Scholarship was derived from a bequest by a longtime member of the Academy's Board of Trustees.

The Greta Nissen Scholarship was established in memory of the Norwegian-born silent film actress, to provide assistance to female students.

The Harryetta Peterka Scholarship was established by family, friends, colleagues, alumni and trustees in memory of Harryetta Peterka, Class of 1958, who served the Academy and its students as an acting teacher, play director and Director of Instruction.

The Henrietta Alice Metcalf Memorial Scholarship For Drama was established through a bequest by Addison Metcalf, in memory of his mother, a life-long devotee of the theatre.

The Hume Cronyn Scholarship honors Hume Cronyn, Class of 1934.

The John Peck Scholarship was established by a bequest from the long-time member of the faculty and Head of the Vocal Production Department in Los Angeles.

The Julie Harris Scholarship honors the distinguished actress, and was made possible in part by a grant from Hallmark Cards, Inc.

The Kirk Douglas Scholarship honors Kirk Douglas, Class of 1941.

The Legend's Scholarship is given in honor of three distinguished The Academy alumni: Anne Bancroft, Charles Durning and Gena Rowlands.

The Los Angeles Faculty Scholarship is made possible by gifts from Academy friends and box office donations from Academy Company performances.

The Madelin Thayer Gilpatric Scholarship, derived from a bequest, honors the memory of a devoted member of the Academy’s Board of Trustees.

The Neil Simon Scholarship honors the distinguished playwright.

The Patricia Grube Scholarship was established by a bequest from Ms. Grube, an alumna of the Class of 1948.

The Philip Loeb Scholarship was established in memory of Philip Loeb, Class of 1916, actor and member of the Academy’s faculty. The scholarship was made possible by a grant from Sol and Rose Feinstone, parents of Ezra Stone, Class of 1935.

The Princess Grace Scholarship was made possible by a grant from the Princess Grace Foundation-USA in memory of Grace Kelly, Class of 1949.

The Samuel Freeman Scholarship was endowed by the Samuel Freeman Charitable Trust.

The Spencer Tracy Scholarship was created through the efforts of Miss Katharine Hepburn in memory of Spencer Tracy, Class of 1923.

The Suzanne Powers Scholarship was established by Susan Towles Schleicher, Class of 1923, known professionally as Suzanne Powers.

The William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, for underprivileged and minority students, was endowed by the Hearst Foundation.

Annual Scholarship Support:
American Theatre Wing
Episcopal Actor’s Guild
Estate of Maxine Little Collier (Alumna)
The Toby and Millie Rowland Fund – Marvin Sloves

Housing Assistance Grants:
LCU Foundation

Annual Scholarships

▲ Back to top